Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Scrapbook: The Rivals
The Australasian Finals - 1979
Your Feedback
Scrapbook: The Dugards
The Australasian Finals - 1978
Your Feedback
Death of Supporters Club
The Australasian Finals - 1977
Plus Points
Your Feedback
DVD: 90 Stars of the BL
The Australasian Finals - 1976
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Mauger and Golden Helmet.
Freezing Trip Across the Border
Your Feedback
Kings of the Road
England v Australasia - Part 3
Plus Points
Your Feedback
DVD Review: World Pairs
England v Australasia - Part 2
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Speedway's Future
England v Australasia - Part 1
Plus Points
Edinburgh v Arena '86
Dag Lovaas Returns to Oxford
It's All About You: Martin Nation
Your Feedback
DVD: London Speedway
Push Passion Play
California Reunion
Your Feedback
Six PC's of Separation
Plus Points
Your Feedback
1960; Beyond the run-off
It's All About: Sandor Kovacs
Your Feedback
Lies, damn lies...
Opening Nights: Arena Essex
Your Feedback
DVD: Ivan Mauger Racing
Your Feedback
A Disenfranchised Fan
Track Pix: Nagyhalasz
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ronnie Moore
Track Pix: Ventura
Speedway Czar
Plus Points
Your Feedback

Kiwis in the Overseas Final - 1999
By Tracy Holmes

It was a thrilling end to the NZ Champs at Templeton near Christchurch.

A triple run-off on 13 points each saw the veteran David Bargh grimly hold on to the lead with Mark Jamieson, the home favourite hunting him down. On the third lap, Jamieson forced his way through and Bargh was unable to hold on, sliding into the dirt. Andy Walker then chased as hard as he could but fell on the last corner.

Jamieson thoroughly deserved the title, it's a whole other story what happened the year before. Walker was second, Bargh third and defending Champion, Paul Atkins fourth. It was a brilliant night of thrills, spills, controversy and protests. Everything a traditional, one off speedway meeting should be.

So who went to the Overseas Final ? None of them. Infact, no Kiwi rep whatsoever! What's the matter with the mill? Done broke down!


1999 Overseas Final. Kings Lynn. June 13. Top 8 to Intercontinental Final at Poole, July 18.

Mark Loram 15. Scott Nicholls 14. Jason Lyons 13. Todd Wiltshire 11. Carl Stonehewer 11. Gary Havelock 10. Paul Hurry 8. Sean Wilson 8. All qualify.

Josh Larsen 6. Dean Barker 5. Nigel Sadler 5. Frank Smart 5. Stuart Robson 5. Jim Sisemore 2. Mike Faria 2. Bart Bast 0.


1981 - 1982 - 1983 - 1984 - 1985 - 1986 - 1987 - 1988 - 1989 - 1990 - 1991 - 1992 - 1993 - 1994 - 1995 - 1996 - 1997 - 1998 - 1999 - 2000/01


This article was first published on 29th April 2018

[ Use Mobile Version ]


  • Tracy Holmes:

    "Just been in touch with Nathan Murray who was selected to ride and appears in the programme at number 6. Sadly, he was unable to travel due to a lack of funds. So adding to the scorechart; NATHAN MURRAY Q ns."  


    Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

  •    Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole