Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Ivan Mauger
Opening Nights: Shawfield
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1997
Your Feedback
Alf Kaines
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1996
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Laydowns Killed the Spectacle
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
A Night to Remember
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1994
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Bert Harkins
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1993
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Leningrad Visit Britain
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1992
Plus Points
Your Feedback
90th Anniversary Celebration
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1991
Plus Points
It's All About You: Richard Goodwin
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1990
Your Feedback
Where Were They Then?
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1989
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Track Pix: UFA
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1988
New Book: Bert Harkins Biog.
Your Feedback
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1987
Your Feedback
It's All About You: Colin Hodgson
Plaque for Road Bikes
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1986
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Riders to Remember: Wal Morton
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1985
Your Feedback
It's All About You....Paul Davey
2018 NZ Championship
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback

Kiwis in the Overseas Final - 1995
By Tracy Holmes

This was a whole new ball game with the introduction of the World Championship Grand Prix. The Commonwealth Final was off the calendar and one place being available for a Kiwi in the Overseas Final.

Mark Thorpe did not ride in the NZ Final, won by Andy Walker, but he was nominated for the place. Now a 1st Division rider with Swindon, he was the natural selection and he did not disappoint.

Coventry was the stage on June 11 with 8 to qualify for the Intercontinental Final at Elgane, Norway on August 19. And Mark was bang on target, booking his ticket with 11 points.


Heat 3. THORPE, Faria, Werner, Norris.

5. Adams, Dugard, THORPE, Barker.

11. THORPE, Parker, C Ermolenko. Stead f/ex

16. THORPE, Manchester, Dixon, Screen

18. Sullivan, Lyons, THORPE, Crump.


Ryan Sullivan 14. Leigh Adams 14. Jason Lyons 12. MARK THORPE 11. Joe Screen 10. Jason Crump 9. Martin Dugard 9. Shane Parker 8. All Qualify.

Chris Manchester 8. Charles Ermolenko 8. Dean Barker 5. Mike Faria 4. Martin Dixon 4. Brent Werner 3. David Norris 0. Garry Stead 0.

Reserve Gary Frankum 1. Roger Shenton 0.

The Intercontinental Final however was not a happy result for Mark. Two points saw him 16th and last. But as always, he gave it his best shot.


This article was first published on 1st April 2018

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole