Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
Ivan Mauger
Opening Nights: Shawfield
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1997
Your Feedback
Alf Kaines
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1996
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Laydowns Killed the Spectacle
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
A Night to Remember
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1994
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Bert Harkins
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1993
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Leningrad Visit Britain
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1992
Plus Points
Your Feedback
90th Anniversary Celebration
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1991
Plus Points
It's All About You: Richard Goodwin
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1990
Your Feedback
Where Were They Then?
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1989
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Track Pix: UFA
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1988
New Book: Bert Harkins Biog.
Your Feedback
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1987
Your Feedback
It's All About You: Colin Hodgson
Plaque for Road Bikes
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1986
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Riders to Remember: Wal Morton
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1985
Your Feedback
It's All About You....Paul Davey
2018 NZ Championship
Kiwis Overseas Final - 1984
Plus Points
Your Feedback

Kiwis in the Overseas Final - 1983
By Tracy Holmes

Belle Vue hosted this years event on July 17. To set the scene, this was from Speedway Star; "With most of the country still basking in heatwave temperatures, storm clouds settled over Manchester and left the Belle Vue track littered with puddles."

So it was going to be an even harder battle for the 10 available spots to the Intercontinental Final at White City on August 7.

This turned out to be nay bother for the NZ reps, Mitch Shirra and Larry Ross. They enjoyed a safe passage while Shawn Moran, World Number 2 Les Collins, Belle Vue Super hero Peter Collins and John Davis were all sensationally knocked out.

Heat 1. Sanders, SHIRRA, Andy Grahame, Peter Collins nf.

2. ROSS, Lee, C Morton, Sigalos.

5. Lee, SHIRRA, Taylor, Faria.

8. Carter, ROSS, Andy Grahame, Davis.

9. Ph Collins, Sigalos, SHIRRA, Carter.

11. S Moran, ROSS, P Collins, Taylor.

13. SHIRRA, C Morton, S Moran, Davis.

14. ROSS, PH Collins, Sanders, Faria fall.

17. SHIRRA, King, L Collins, ROSS.

Run-off for 2nd. Carter, SHIRRA.


Phil Collins 12. Kenny Carter 11. MITCH SHIRRA 11. Billy Sanders 10. LARRY ROSS 10. Dennis Sigalos 9. Andy Grahame 9. Chris Morton 9. Mike Lee 8. Lance King 8. All qualify.

Shawn Moran 7. Les Collins 6. John Davis 4. Peter Collins 3. Glyn Taylor 2. Mike Faria 1.

Reserves; Paul Woods, Phil Crump, Rick Miller and Kiwi ALAN MASON, all dnr.


This article was first published on 31st December 2017

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole