Home Contact Us Stadia Pix Articles All About You Riders to Remember
DVDs Books Pictures Archive Dream Teams Programme Generator
DVD Review: 70s - A to Z
Your Feedback
Why is it in decline?
Plus Points
Dream Team: Garry Robinson
The Golden Hammer - 1996
Your Feedback
Raking Over Old Coals
The Golden Hammer - 1995
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ode to Brough Park
The Golden Hammer - 1994
Which Craven?
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Ivan Miller
The Golden Hammer - 1993
Your Feedback
Generator - Prem Pairs
The Golden Hammer - 1992
As The Crow Flies
The Golden Hammer - 1991
Generator - Danish League
The Golden Hammer - 1990
Your Feedback
Oxford's Minor Miracle
The Golden Hammer - 1989
The Golden Hammer - 1986
The Golden Hammer - 1987
The Golden Hammer - 1988
The Golden Hammer - 1983
The Golden Hammer - 1984
The Golden Hammer - 1985
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1980
The Golden Hammer - 1981
The Golden Hammer - 1982
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Golden Hammer - 1977
The Golden Hammer - 1978
The Golden Hammer - 1979
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Speedway Bike
Your Feedback
45 Years a Racer
Your Feedback
DVD: Sheffield Memories
Your Feedback
Ronnie's Newcastle Nightmare
Plus Points
Book Review: Where Eagles Dared
The Cheetahs Are Back!
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Four
Track Pix: Redcar
Your Feedback
DVD Review: Hans Nielsen
Track Pix: Sheffield
Your Feedback
Artem Laguta
Track Pix: Birmingham
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part Three
KENT - Central Park
Your Feedback
Book Review: Yearbook 2020
Track Pix: Peterborough
Your Feedback
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Ian Hoskins Tribute
Your Feedback
Speedway's Black Hole
Track Pix: Mildenhall
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Kirky Lane Demolition
Cinder Kings Exhibition
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Aussies at Ipswich - 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Steve Langton Strikes Gold
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Book Review: Split Waterman
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 2
Your Feedback
Irish Eyes Were Smiling
Plus Points
Your Feedback
King's Lynn - Part 1
Plus Points
Your Feedback
Speedway in Germany 1933
Dream Team : Kevin Huggett
Plus Points
Your Feedback
The Bill Allen Mystery
Your Feedback
The Ipswich Witches
The Danger of Winning
Your Feedback
Australia 70/71
Canterbury Noise Trials
Your Feedback

Brandonapolis 1965 - 1985. A Kiwi Konnection. Part 3.
By Tracy Holmes

1971. September 15.

And again, RONNIE MOORE was the only Kiwi Konnection. Sadly, the defender and new World Speedway Champion, Ole Olsen was unable to attend. Speedway Star's Peter Morrish went into print;

"When Martin Ashby led Soren Sjosten home in heat 16, it was apparent that the destination of the trophy lay between Nigel Boocock and Ray Wilson. We had to wait until heat 20 for the decider, with Soren Sjosten and Tony Lomas thrown in for good measure, and it was Nigel who made the gate and, despite a strong challenge, led the way home for his third Brandonapolis victory."

Heat 1. Sjosten, Simensen, Hill, MOORE.
Heat 7. Boulger, Lomas, MOORE, Owen.
Heat 11. Wilson, Airey, Middleton, MOORE.
Heat 15. N Boocock, E Boocock, MOORE, Betts.
Heat 19. Ashby, MOORE, Harkins. Harrfeldt fall.

1st Nigel Boocock 15.
2nd Ray Wilson 14.
3rd Martin Ashby 12.

Soren Sjosten 11. Jim Airey 10. Tony Lomas 9. John Boulger 9. Gary Middleton 7. Jan Simensen 6. Eric Boocock 6. Sverre Harrfeldt 5. RONNIE MOORE 4. Les Owen 4. Terry Betts 4. Roger Hill 3. Bert Harkins 1. Ron Mountford dnr. [Res] John Harrhy dnr.


1972. September 20. Yet again, it was RONNIE MOORE as the Shakey Isles lone rep. In his last ever appearance, the twice winner had hoped for a better 'last hurrah !' Dave Robottom had this to say in Speedway Star,

"Ole Olsen shrugged off his Wembley disappointment to regain the 'Golden Wonder' sponsored Brandonapolis he was unable to defend last year. A perfectly prepared track resulted in very fast times with Ole equalling the two-week-old track record in heat 4."

Heat 2. Louis, Jansson, France, MOORE.
Heat 8. Persson, Wilson, McMillan, MOORE.
Heat 11. Betts, Olsen, MOORE, Michanek.
Heat 14. MOORE, N Boocock, Owen. Lovaas ef.
Heat 17. Boulger, MOORE, Harrhy, Eide.

1st Ole Olsen 14.
2nd Terry Betts 13.
3rd Bernt Persson 11.

Bengt Jansson 10. John Boulger 10. Nigel Boocock 9. John Louis 9. Anders Michanek 9. John Harrhy 9. RONNIE MOORE 6. Ray Wilson 5. Jim McMillan 5. Rick France 4. Dag Lovaas 3. Reider Eide 1. [Res] Roger Hill 1. [Res] Les Owen 1. Tony Lomas 0.


1973. September 26. "Sorry, Kiwis are off today!"

Sadly, that was the case. Peter Morrish picks up the story for Speedway Star;

"Reading flier Anders Michanek defied a twelfth heat exclusion to land the Golden Wonder Brandonapolis with 12 points, the lowest winning total since GEOFF MARDON won with 12 in 1954. It was a smooth display by the Swede who won his races well and confidently on a track made difficult by pre-meeting rain which held up the start. Nigel Boocock suffered a badly bruised shoulder in a third heat fall and took no further part in the meeting."

1st Anders Michanek 12.
2nd John Boulger 11.
3rd John Louis 11.

Alan Jay 10. Martin Ashby 10. Bob Valentine 10. Ray Wilson 9. Gary Middleton 9. Rick France 8. Reider Eide 7. Jim McMillan 6. Graham Plant 5. Malcolm Simmons 4. Scott Autrey 4. Bert Harkins 1. [Res] Pete Bailey 1. [Res] Soren Karlsson 1. Nigel Boocock 0.


Part One - Part Two - Part Three - Part Four - Part Five - Part Six


This article was first published on 27th October 2019

[ Use Mobile Version ]


Comment on this Article | Contact Us | Go Back to Main Menu

   Please leave your comments on this article or on the site as a whole